Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa finishes second for Heisman Trophy

Crimson Tide sophomore aimed to be the first Alabama quarterback to win college football's biggest honor

University of Alabama sophomore quarterback Tua Tagovailoa finished second for the Heisman Trophy on Saturday night.

He aimed to be first Crimson Tide quarterback to win the trophy, presented to the nation's most outstanding player by the Heisman Trophy Trust.

Kyler Murray of Oklahoma won. He's the seventh Sooner to win, including last year's winner Baker Mayfield. Quarterback Dwayne Haskins of Ohio State was the other finalist.

Tagovailoa received the most votes ever for a runner-up.

Heisman voting results

1] Kyler Murray, Oklahoma, 2,167 votes

2] Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama, 1,871

3] Dwayne Hawkins, 783

Alabama teammate Quinnen Williams, a sophomore nose tackle, placed eighth.

Running backs Mark Ingram (2009) and Derrick Henry (2015) remain Alabama’s only two Heisman winners.

Tagovailoa has thrown for 3,353 yards and a school-record 37 touchdowns with just four interceptions on 199-of-294 passing (67.7 percent). The sophomore is tied for second on the Alabama career touchdown pass list with 48 and has thrown for 300 or more yards a Crimson Tide-record five times this season.

His 42 combined passing and rushing touchdowns are also an Alabama season record.

Tagovailoa joined Ingram, Henry, Amari Cooper (2014), AJ McCarron (2013) and Trent Richardson (2011) as the sixth player to be named a finalist for the award under head coach Nick Saban.

McCarron was previously the lone Alabama player to finish second in Heisman voting when he was edged by Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston. Cooper and Richardson were both third. Before Saban arrived at Alabama in 2007, wide receiver David Palmer's third-pace showing in 1993 was the program's best.

Ingram's vote was the closest in Heisman history, edging Stanford running back Toby Gerhart 1,304 to 1,276. Previously, the narrowest vote was in 1985, Auburn running back Bo Jackson over Iowa quarterback Chuck Long (1,509 to 1,464).

Also of note from the ceremony was that Tagovailoa took off this walking boot after having a surgical procedure on a high ankle sprain last week. He had been using a scooter to get around.

"It's good," Tagovailoa said during the hour-long broadcast on ESPN.

Earlier this week, Tagovailoa won the two other major college football player of the year honors, the Maxwell Award and the Walter Camp Award. He and Murray will face each other at the Orange Bowl, a College Football Playoff semifinal on Dec. 29.

"I just hope that everyone in Hawaii believes that anything is possible," Tagovailoa said. "Dream big."