Kyler Murray edges Tua Tagovailoa for AP player of the year honor

Alabama quarterback finishes second in possible precursor to Heisman Trophy, other major awards

Kyler Murray was named The Associated Press college football Player of the Year, edging Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa on Thursday.

Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins Jr., who like the other two is also a finalist for the Heisman Trophy, was third on on 56 ballots submitted by AP college football poll voters.

He's the second straight Oklahoma quarterback and fifth overall to win the award since it was established in 1998.

“It’s humbling and an honor to be named AP Player of the Year, to be mentioned in the same realm as a lot of great players, a lot of hall of famers,” Murray told the AP. “It’s a special deal for me and hopefully I can continue to make my family and teammates proud.”

Alabama's never had a player win the award.

Murray received 39 first-place votes and a total of 145 points. Tagovailoa received 13 first-place votes (117 points) and Haskins was listed first on four ballots (55 points).

Murray joins Baker Mayfield (2017), Josh Heupel (2000), Jason White (2003) and Sam Bradford (2008) as previous winners from Oklahoma.

Murray leads the country in total offense (4,945 yards), points responsible for (306) and passing efficiency (205.7).

Murray and Tagovailoa are on a collision course when No. 1 Alabama and No. 4 Oklahoma meet in the Orange Bowl, a semifinal of the College Football Playoff, on Dec. 29.