Tua Tagovailoa up for Polynesian College Football Player of the Year award

One of Alabama's quarterbacks is up for an honor in his home state

The Alabama football team experienced another first Thursday morning.

Sophomore quarterback Tua Tagovailoa was named to the watch list for the Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award.

The Crimson Tide has never had a player up for the honor, which will given out for just the fifth time this season. Former Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota was the inaugural recipient in 2014.

The watch list is composed of 50 players from 34 different FBS schools.

The award is given out by Polynesian College Football Hall of Fame, which is located in Tagovailoa’s home state of Hawaii.

The full awards rundown

Maxwell Award (most outstanding player): Damien Harris, Jalen Hurts and Tua Tagovailoa. Semifinalists announced TBA.

Bednarik Award (best defensive player): Raekwon Davis, Anfernee Jennings and Mack Wilson. Semifinalists announced TBA.

Davey O’Brien Award (best linebacker): Jalen Hurts. Semifinalists named Nov. 6.

Doak Walker Award (premier running back): Damien Harris. Semifinalists TBA.

Lott Award (defensive impact): Anfernee Jennings. Semifinalists TBA.

Rimington Award (premier center): Ross Pierschbacher. Finalists TBA.

John Mackey Award (outstanding tight end): Hale Hentges. Finalists TBA.

Butkus Award (best linebacker): Anfernee Jennings, Dylan Moses and Mack Wilson. Semifinalists named Oct. 29.

Outland Trophy (outstanding interior lineman): Ross Pierschbacher, Jonah Williams. Semifinalists announced Nov. 14.

Bronko Nagurski Trophy (outstanding defensive player): Raekwon Davis. Finalists TBA.

Paul Hornung Award (most versatile player): Trevon Diggs. Semifinalists TBA.

Wuerffel Trophy (community service): Hale Hentges. Semifinalists TBA.

Walter Camp Award (outstanding player): Damien Harris Raekwon Davis. Semifinalists TBA.

Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award: Tua Tua Tagovailoa.

Yet to be determined

Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award (outstanding senior quarterback): Watch list TBA.

Ted Hendricks Award (defensive end): Watch list TBA.

Campbell Trophy (top scholar-athlete): Semifinalists announced TBA.

Heisman Trophy (most outstanding player): TBD. Finalists announced Dec. 3

Coaching awards

Broyles Award (assistant coach): Semifinalists TBD.

Eddie Robinson (coach of the year): Finalists TBD.

Stallings Award (humanitarian/excellence): Finalists TBD.

George Munger (coach of the year): Finalists TBD.

Awards no Alabama player is up for:

Biletnikoff Award (outstanding receiver).

Jim Thorpe Award (best defensive back).

Lou Groza Award (top place-kicker).

Ray Guy Award (punter of the year).