SEC Outsider: TMG's conference awards a tad heavy on good Crimson Tidings

It has been another exciting year in the SEC, so let’s get right to this year’s all-conference accolades. Selections were made by TMG College Sports based on careful study of all the league’s top teams in 2016.

Team of the Year: Alabama

Stadium of the Year: Bryant-Denny (Alabama)

Top practice facility: Thomas-Drew (Alabama)

News conference venue of the year: Naylor Stone Media Room (Alabama)

Top website:

Best nickname: Crimson Tide

Most Valuable Town: Tuscaloosa

Breakfast of the Year: Waysider

Best Ribs: Dreamland

Coach of the Year: Nick Saban (Alabama)

Top Assistant Coach Offense: Lane Kiffin (Alabama)

Top Assistant Coach Defense: Jeremy Pruitt (Alabama)

Top Assistant Special Teams: Burton Burns (Alabama)

Top Offensive Analyst hired during season: Steve Sarkisian (Alabama)

Best practice use of former star player to prepare for LSU star running back Leonard Fournette: Alabama (Trent Richardson).

Tweet of the Year: Lane Kiffin (Alabama), after win over USC: #3:14AM-LAX

Offensive Player of the Year: Jalen Hurts (Alabama, QB)

Freshman of the Year: Hurts

True Freshman of the Year: Hurts

Defensive Player of the Year: Jonathan Allen (DL, Alabama)

Best offense: Alabama

Second-best offense: Alabama defense.

Best team red zone: Alabama

Best team passenger loading, unloading, white zone: Alabama

Press briefing rant of the year: Nick Saban (Alabama)

“You all want to put everything on the playoffs, man. That’s all you care about. You don’t care about bowl games, you don’t care about any teams in the country that aren’t in the playoffs. I don’t know. If we don’t win this game, maybe we throw a stink bomb out there, maybe we don’t get in the playoffs. I don’t know. You guys have all the answers to that, but I don’t. All I know is that if we play well, we control our own destiny in terms of what we do. So I’d really rather not have any more questions about ‘Is it Ok to lose this game?’ It’s never OK to lose a game.”

First-team All SEC offense:

LT-Cam Robinson (Alabama)

LG-Ross Pierschbacher (Alabama)

C-Bradley Bozeman (Alabama)

RG-Korren Kirven (Alabama)

RT-Jonah Williams (Alabama)

TE-Hale Hentges (Alabama)

TE (H)-O.J. Howard (Alabama)

QB-Jalen Hurts (Alabama)

RB-Damien Harris (Alabama)

WR-Calvin Ridley (Alabama)

WR (H)-Gehrig Dieter (Alabama)

First-team all SEC defense:

DE-Jonathan Allen (Alabama)

NG-Da’Ron Payne (Alabama)

DE-Dalvin Tomlinson (Alabama)

JACK-Tim Williams (Alabama)

SAM-Ryan Anderson (Alabama)

MIKE-Shaun Dion Hamilton (Alabama)

WILL-Reuben Foster (Alabama)

CB-Marlon Humphrey (Alabama)

SS-Minkah Fitzpatrick (Alabama)

FS-Ronnie Harrison (Alabama)

STAR-Tony Brown (Alabama)

Special Teams

PK\KO-Adam Griffith (Alabama)

Holder-Cooper Bateman (Alabama)

Punter-JK Scott (Alabama)

Best Snapper-Cole Mazza (Alabama)

Best Red Snapper: (Alabama)

Punt Returner-Trevon Diggs (Alabama)

KOR-ArDarius Stewart (Alabama)

Top non-conference performance: Alabama 52, USC 6

Top in-conference performance: Alabama 51, Mississippi State 3

Top bye week performance: Alabama

Best recovery from slow start against Chattanooga: Alabama

Most games one SEC team could afford to lose and still make playoff: Alabama (Two, Auburn and Florida).

Top focus on Election Day: Nick Saban (Alabama)