Final 4 Countdown: The Field 2

Here's our second look at the 68 team NCAA tournament field as we get closer to conference tournament time.

Our list (still really a guess) of the 32 automatic qualifers and 36 at-large teams, conference by conference. We will make projections of the automatic bids based on the current conference standings.

The major conferences such as the Big 12, ACC and Big Ten will flourish with mulitiple bids as long as there are no upsets in the mid-major conferences.

So here's our first guess at the full field.

  1. America East (1)--Vermont
  2. American Athletic Conference (2)--Cincinnati, SMU
  3. Atlantic 10 (2)--VCU, Dayton
  4. Atlantic Coast Conference (9)--North Carolina, Florida State, Notre Dame, Virginia, Louisville, Virginia Tech, Syracuse, Duke and Miami
  5. Atlantic Sun (1)--Florida Gulf Coast
  6. Big 12 (7)--Kansas, West Virginia, Baylor, Oklahoma State, Iowa State, Kansas State, TCU.
  7. Big East (5)--Villanova, Creighton, Butler, Xavier, Marquette.
  8. Big Sky (1)--Weber State
  9. Big South (1)--UNC-Ashville
  10. Big Ten (8)--Maryland, Wisconsin, Northwestern, Purdue, Michigan State, Michigan, Indiana, Iowa
  11. Big West (1)--UC-Irvine
  12. CAA (1)--UNC-Wilmington
  13. Conference USA-(1)--Middle Tennessee
  14. Horizon (1)--Valparaiso
  15. Ivy (1)--Princeton
  16. MAAC (1)--Monmouth
  17. MAC (1)--Akron
  18. MEAC (1)--NC. Central
  19. MVC (2)--Illinois State, Wichita State
  20. MWC--(1)--Nevada
  21. Northeast (1)--Mount Saint Mary's
  22. OVC (1)--Belmont
  23. Pac-12 (5)--Arizona, UCLA, Oregon, USC,California
  24. Patriot (1)--Bucknell
  25. SEC (4)-Kentucky, Florida, South Carolina, Arkansas
  26. Southern (1)--Furman
  27. Southland (1)--Sam Houston
  28. SWAC (1)--Texas Southern
  29. Summit (1)--North Dakota State
  30. Sun Belt (1)--Arkansas State
  31. WCC (2)--Gonzaga, St. Mary's
  32. WAC (1)-New Mexico State