Cowgirls Among 3 Mountain West Schools to Receive WNIT Berths

Jonah Bank -- Making Wyoming Better

The Wyoming Cowgirls recieved an at-large bid for the WNIT, one of three Mountain West schools who will take part in this year's tournament. A schedule for games will be announced later.

Along with Wyoming, New Mexico and Fresno State will participate in the WNIT.

First-round action begins Wednesday and continues through Friday. Second-round games are slated for Saturdauy through March 26 with Round 3 March 27-29 and Round 4 is scheduled from March 30-31. The semifinals of the WNIT will be held April 3-4, and the championship game will be played at 3 p.m. ET, Saturday, April 6 and be televised on CBS Sports Network.

A total of 41 teams in the tournament won at least 20 games this season.

This year’s Postseason WNIT features five teams from the Big East and Conference USA and four teams from the Mid-American Conference and West Coast Conference.

Seven conferences placed three teams each – American, Big Sky, Big Ten, Colonial, Horizon, Mountain West and Sun Belt.

Other conference represented include the Atlantic 10 (2), Big 12 (2), Ivy (2), Southland (2), America East (1), Atlantic Coast (1), Atlantic Sun (1), Big South (1), Big West (1), Metro (1), Mid-Eastern (1), Missouri Valley (1), Northeast (1), Ohio Valley (1), Pac-12 (1), Patriot (1), Southeastern (1), Southern (1), Southwest (1), Summit (1) and Western Athletic (1).

There are five teams that either won or tied for first place for their conference title in 2018-19.

“As women’s Division I college basketball grows in popularity and begins to see impressive programs sprout in all corners of the country, the value and excitement generated by the Postseason WNIT is undeniable,” said Renee Carlson, tournament director. “Teams remain thrilled for the chance to continue their seasons in the WNIT; it’s either a treasured last chance for the senior class of each team, or a chance for coaches and younger players to create a positive bounce into next season.”

The Postseason WNIT is owned and produced by Triple Crown Sports, based in Fort Collins, Colo. TCS also organizes men’s and women’s college basketball tournaments in Cancun, and the Preseason WNIT. TCS is the leader in youth and collegiate sports and manages more than 100 amateur sporting events across the country in volleyball, fastpitch softball, baseball, lacrosse and basketball. With 33 years of experience in the event business, TCS is nationally-recognized as a premier tournament organization. 

For complete information on the tournament visit

Auotmatic Quqalifiers
American (22-10), Patriot
Butler (21-9), Big East
California Baptist (18-11), WAC
Cincinnati (21-10), American
Denver (17-13), Summit League
Furman (19-13), SoCon
Green Bay (22-9), Horizon League
Hartford (23-9), America East
Hawaii (25-16), Big West
High Point (22-8), Big South
Idaho (20-11), Big Sky
James Madison (25-5), Colonial Athletic
Lamar (24-6), Southland
Morehead State (23-10), Ohio Valley
New Mexico (24-6), Mountain West
North Carolina A&T (20-11), MEAC
Northern Iowa (20-12), Missouri Valley
Ohio (27-5), MAC
Ohio State (14-14), Big Ten
Penn (23-6), Ivy League
Pepperdine (20-11), West Coast
Prairie View A&M (17-13), SWAC
Rider (19-12), MAAC
Sacred Heart (19-12), Northeastern
Stetson (16-15), Atlantic Sun
UAB (25-6), Conference USA
UT Arlington (23-7), Sun Belt
VCU (23-9), Atlantic 10
West Virginia (20-10), Big 12

Arizona (18-13), Pac-12
Arkansas (20-14), SEC
Charlotte (18-12), Conference USA
Dayton (17-13), Atlantic 10
Drexel (24-8), Colonial Athletic
Fresno State (19-12), Mountain West
Georgetown (16-15), Big East
Harvard (16-12), Ivy League
Houston (15-15), American
Idaho State (20-10), Big Sky
IUPUI (20-11), Horizon League
Kent State (19-12), MAC
Loyola Marymount (18-14), West Coast
Miami OH (23-8), MAC
Middle Tennessee (22-10), Conference USA
Minnesota (20-10), Big Ten
Northeastern (20-11), Colonial Athletic
Northern Colorado (21-10), Big Sky
Northwestern (16-14), Big Ten
Old Dominion (21-10), Conference USA
Pacific (18-12), West Coast
Providence (17-15), Big East
Saint Mary's (20-11), West Coast
South Alabama (24-10), Sun Belt
Seton Hall (15-15), Big East
South Florida (18-15), American
Stephen F. Austin (25-6), Southland
TCU (20-10), Big 12
Toledo (20-11), MAC
Troy (22-8), Sun Belt
Villanova (18-12), Big East
Virginia Tech (20-11), ACC
Western Kentucky (18-14), Conference USA
Wyoming (22-8), Mountain West
Youngstown State (22-9), Horizon League